fifty shades of …victimization.

browsing across the world of internet and my favorite pass time of checking out what trolls are saying, i came across this idea, floating swiftly among the mainstream, that Anastasia steel in fifty shades series is a victim, is a passive player, is a pushover and god knows what not.i was like, what!?people are really combining gone by tropes with the text and result is not pretty.
let us recapitulate shall we?
Anastasia Rose Steele is a character who was inspired by Isabella Marie Swan of the extremely popular twilight series.written as a fan-fiction, she later got her own name when e l James copy of the fan-fiction was picked up by the writer’s coffee shop  publishing house to print it as an independent manuscript.the publishers clearly wanted to separate it’s origins as titillating unoriginal story from it’s current well liked status.

Ana starts off being quite similar to Bella. described as clumsy, awkward, not much of a fashion connoisseur with no sexual interest till now with similar physical looks except for striking blue eyes.however that is where the similarities end.unlike Bella, Ana though might not be comfortable in her physique is quite self-aware of her expectations and wants in her life.she does not just drifts along the state of affairs as she likes us to believe.she has plans and goals just beyond graduation and has multiple career goals.

Sometimes I wonder if there’s something wrong with me.  Perhaps I’ve spent too long in the company of my literary romantic heroes, and consequently my ideals and expectations are far too high.  But in reality, nobody’s ever made me feel like that. Until very recently,

 

[Ana]“Hey, I have interviews! The week after next, in Seattle, for intern placements!” [Kate]“For which publishing house?”
[Ana]“For both of them!”
[Kate]“I told you your GPA would open doors, Ana.”
Kate, of course, already has an internship set up at the Seattle Times.  Her father knows someone, who knows someone.

her expectations from christian was conventional but it was started to appease her own curiosity about him, to fulfill her desire for sexual intimacy after finally feeling ready.it was all  all ABOUT HER.what she desires , her initiative, her decision

Please, let’s do this… otherwise we’ll end up alone with lots of cats and your classic novels to keep you company

…The only man I’ve ever been attracted to, and he comes with a bloody contract, a flogger, and a whole world of issues
..  Well, at least I got my way this weekend.  My inner goddess stops jumping and smiles serenely.

Am I submissive?  Maybe I come across that way.  Maybe I misled him in the interview.  I’m shy, yes… but submissive?  I let Kate bully me – is that the same?  And those soft limits, jeez.  My mind boggles, but I’m reassured that they are up for discussion.

as for people who are thinking this is a romance, you only need to read this quote to to see that: Anastasia is completely aware that what christian wants is not conventional and he HAS ISSUES which needs to be resolved and needs consideration while thinking about his offer, she needs to decide whether after the no strings first night, does she really want to take up more immersion in his BDSM sexual lifestyle?
clearly she is reassured that she can and will decide after discussion and will have time to think about it.this is why even after witnessing some distressing things  (playroom “red room of pain”)for the first time in her history, she does not balk that much because christian has always reassured her as well as her own curiosity and open mind.

“You don’t have to do anything you don’t want to do. You know that don’t you?” [christian]
“I’d never do anything I didn’t want to do, Christian.” [Ana]

just before opening his playroom

[christian]“You can leave anytime.  The helicopter is on stand-by to take you whenever you want to go, you can stay the night and go home in the morning.  It’s fine whatever you decide.”
[Ana]“Just open the damn door, Christian.”

like many people out there the idea of so much submission horrifies and repulse her at some point.

My mouth presses in a hard line.  This is what I cannot reconcile.  Kind, caring Christian, who rescues me from inebriation and holds me gently while I’m throwing up into the azaleas, and the monster who possesses whips and chains in a special room.

My head is buzzing.  How can I possibly agree to all this?  And apparently it’s for my benefit, to explore my sensuality, my limits – safely – oh please!  I scoff angrily.  Serve and obey in all things.  All Things!  I shake my head in disbelief.  Actually, doesn’t the marriage ceremony use those words… obey?

but she still has desire and curiosity to know more about it and she does find it desirable(at least on paper)

Do I really want this stuff in my head?  Jeez – is this what he gets up to in the Red Room of Pain?  I sit staring at the screen, and part of me, a very moist and integral part of me – that I’ve only become acquainted with very recently, is seriously turned on.  Oh my, some of this stuff is HOT.  But is it for me?

Anastasia’s desire and intents are just as important and worth mentioning.she has her doubts and misgivings given what she knows of his history with sex and some inkling into his childhood trauma.when christian tells he that being a submissive in his control is a kind of therapy which she tries to assimilate to what she knows. isn’t what every normal girlfriend does?get to know her boyfriend?
lots of time James/ Ana surprisingly dwell little on the growing desire for the BDSM lifestyle Anastasia has and her struggle to assimilate the idea within her.instead she becomes more of a lens to see christian when we should have dwell on her.

“Maybe.  Perhaps I should be stricter with you.” He cocks his head to one side and gives me an artful smile. I swallow.  Jeez, no.  But at the same time, my muscles clench deliciously deep inside.  It is his way of showing that he cares….

and this is one of the reasons readers fail to pick up on the hints that maybe Anastasia started  in this arrangement because of her desire to be with christian but she comes to desire some aspects of it for herself too.

Leave a Reply

